Likes + Loves of 2018

I think 2018 will be one for the yearbooks.

I know plenty of people that will be glad that it’s over and done with. I’ll admit it was an interesting ride one. For me personally, I don’t think it was such a bad year. I’ve certainly had worse. But when you look at the whole picture though, politics, deaths, general tragedy it was pretty harsh so I 100% get it.

For the past couple of years, I’ve put together some of my favorite things from the year. It’s my way of writing down and looking through all of the positive things. Sure there will always be negatives but we don’t have to dwell on them any longer. Let’s leave all that crap in 2018, shall we.

So here are some of my favorite things and highlights from my year in 2018!

Misc: 

  • I made some final decisions about this blog, where I want it to go, what I want to do, so keep an eye out for that over the next couple of weeks.
  • I got a double cartilage piercing on my left ear – I really should’ve made a post about that but maybe I’ll do something for it next year, be like a year later update (healing, pain, etc.)
  • I feel like its been winter for forever. Weather in Ohio was extra cray-cray in 2018 so I was wearing a lot more boots and jackets. My favorite place to buy boots is at Target. Their always cute, decently and can last you for years. Jackets I kind of get all over, New York & Company, Rue 21, and Target (of course).

Instagram:

I lacked so hard when it came to instagram this year. I honestly just wasn’t interested in posting much anymore, but not for lack of content or trying but more because I was in some weird headspace where I hated everything I created. So I only posted 15 pics in 2018 (3 of them were for the new year & 3 #fbf or my mama’s bday). I did keep with my 3 pic theme though so I guess there’s that. Which I plan to keep for 2019. I also want to get back into posting more frequently but stop putting so much pressure on myself at the same time. Interesting combo but I think I can manage.

Since I haven’t been posing on insta I’ve mainly been using it for inspiration and ideas. Instagram has become my main go-to hub when I’m looking for some inspo. For a color scheme, general feel/vibe or something completely different that sparks an idea. I’ve been really into following a bunch of bullet journal and art pages lately that have really been inspiring me to want to create again.

Top 5 Accounts: randirussario (motivation), phiepoetry (bujo), chazsmith (funny), tanaka_tatsuya (art), elas_bullet_journey (bujo)

Music:

My spotify is @aesburnz if you want to follow or see what i listen to.

One of my favorite things about using Spotify (not sponsered but I’d gladly make that post) is that they do this ‘yearly wrapped’, where they tell you your stats for the the year. Like how much music you’ve listened to in minutes, who your top listened to artist was, and they even make a whole playlist with your top songs. I listened to 2,939 different songs and for 102, 389 minutes (about 71 days). My top artist this year was Logic, I listened to him for a total of 112 hours (6,720 minutes or about 4 days). It honestly doesn’t suprise me since he’s one of my alltime favorites and I was keeping Everybody and The Increbdble True Story on heavy rotation before his newest 2 came out.

Anyone that knows me knows my music addiction and 2018 was no different. I’ve still been loving so much music from 2017 but there were a bunch of new releases and discoveries in 2018. This year I decided to not include any 2017 music, otherwise, this list would be twice as long and I wanted to give the 2018 music the spotlight. But trust and believe I had to take off a bunch of music that I forgot didn’t come out this year but I was still obsessing over.

Here is the link to my top 2018 songs if you want to see the mix and maybe discover some new stuff. Let me know if you and I have the same tastes or favorites!

Top 5 Songs: Why – NF, My Blood – Twenty One Pilots, Closure – Maroon 5, Happy Without Me – Chloe x Halle, The Internet – Jon Bellion

Top 5 Albums: Trench – Twenty One Pilots, beerbongs & bentleys – Post Malone, The Pains of Growing – Alessia Cara, sweetner – Ariana Grande, SYRE – Jaden Smith

Top 5 Artists: Twenty One Pilots, Logic, Ariana Grande, Post Malone, Prettymuch

  • AJR – The Click (album)
  • Alessia Cara – The Pains of Growing (album)
  • Ariana Grande – sweetener (album), thank u next & imagine (singles)
  • Bea Miller – aurora (album)
  • Cardi B – Invasion of Privacy (album)
  • Chance the Rapper – Work Out/65th & Ingleside/I Might Need Security (singles)
  • Cher Llyod – None Of My Business (single)
  • Chloe x Halle – The Kids Are Alright (album)
  • Christina Aguleria – Liberation (album)
  • Drake – God’s Plan/Nice for What/I’m Upset (singles)
  • Gabbie Hanna – Honestly & Monster (singles)
  • Halsey – Without Me (single)
  • Jaden Smith – SYRE (album)
  • Black Panther (album)
  • Jess Glynne – Always in Between (album)
  • Justin Timberlake – Man of the Woods (album)
  • Little Mix – LM5 (album)
  • Logic – Bobby Tarantino & YSIV (albums)
  • Maroon 5 – Red Pill Blues (album)
  • Miguel – Sky Walker/Banana Clip (singles)
  • NF – Why & No Name (singles)
  • OneRepublic – Connection & Start Again ft. logic (singles)
  • Post Malone – beerbongs & bentleys (album) – Wow (single)
  • Prettymuch- Prettymuch an EP (album/ep) & Summer on You/Solita/Real Friends/Jello (singles)
  • Sam Smith – Pray ft. logic (single)
  • Social House – Magic in the Hamptons & Higher (singles)
  • Twenty One Pilots – Trench (album)
  • Jon Bellion – Glory Sound Prep (album)
  • Outasight – Richie & Future Vintage Soul (albums)
  • The Carters – Everything is Love (album)
  • Imagine Dragons – Origins (album)
  • MKTO – How Can I Forget (single)
  • Childish Gambino – This is America (single) 

Movies:

I don’t think 2018 was the greatest year for movies but some pretty freaking great movies came out last year.

  • Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald
  • Venom
  • The Hate U Give
  • Incredibles 2
  • The Meg
  • A Simple Favor
  • Avengers: Infinity War
  • Black Panther
  • Ant-Man and the Wasp
  • Deadpool 2
  • Oceans 8
  • The Equalizer 2
  • A Wrinkle in Time
  • The Hurricane Heist
  • A Quiet Place
  • The Darkest Minds
  • Mary Poppins Returns
  • Mission: Impossible- Fall Out
  • Ready Player One (okay)
  • Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom (okay)

Top 5 Movies: The Hate U Give, Venom, Incredibles 2, Avengers, Fantastic Beasts 2

Tv/Netflix/Hulu:

  • The Good Place (season 3)
  • Bob’s Burgers (season 8)
  • Fixer Upper (season 1-4)
  • (rewatch) Hotel Hell (season 1-3)
  • (rewatch) Kitchen Nightmares (season 1-6)
  • Stan Against Evil (season 2)
  • Blindspot (season 4)
  • Shadowhunters (season 3)
  • Drunk History (season 1-4)
  • 9-1-1 (season 2)
  • Killing Eve (season 1)
  • (rewatch) 18 to Life (season 1-2)
  • Supernanny & Jo Frost: Nanny on Tour (season 1)
  • Escape the Night (season 3: Youtube original)
  • Maniac (Netflix original: limited series)
  • Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee (season 1-5)
  • The End of the F****ing World (season 1: Netflix original)
  • Iliza: Elder Millennial (Netflix original)
  • Trevor Noah: Son of Patricia (Netflix original)
  • Extinction (Netflix original)
  • Red Table Talk (facebook watch)

#1 TV show/original: The Good Place/Maniac (Netflix original)

Youtube:

I watch youtube more then I watch regular tv, it also helps that I don’t have cable but that’s not the point. I think if youtube did an end of year stats I would probably be worried about how much time I actually do spend on it. But that wouldn’t keep me from watching my favorite youtubers and discovering new niches and people. 

  • The Try Guys – They started their own channel/company so I’ve been binging all their videos including the BuzzFeed ones.
  • Brave Wilderness – A discovery I made thanks to GMM and have been hooked on ever since and still can’t believe the stuff Coyote goes through.
  • Good Mythical Morning – Rhett and Link have gone off and on my radar since I’ve been using youtube and for some reason they really hooked me this year and I pretty much start every morning with them since their videos get uploaded at 6 am my time and its nice to have some fun nonsense in the morning to start the day.
  • Philip DeFranco – Phil is also someone I’ve known about on youtube for years and have dabbled here and there but never subscribed but this year was the year for me to hit that button I guess. I pretty much watch his videos at work or on the bus ride home and have even introduced him to my mom. I think he’s funny and is a great source to learn some every day or sometimes crazy news.
  • First We Feast: Hot Ones – I’m not even sure how I discovered Hot Ones (maybe when Logic did his interview) but it was some time last year and I freaking love Sean and the whole concept of the Hot Ones show! There are so many people I want to see be interviewed so I can’t wait for season 8.
  • Safiya Nygaard – I think I’ve been following Saf since she left BuzzFeed and I love her videos. They’re always quirky and funny. I’ve really been binging her videos from last year along with her current ones (Ty proposed!!!)
  • Josh Peck – If you grew up with Drake & Josh like me then you will easily get hooked to Josh’s youtube channel. I mainly enjoy his mukbangs (especially with David or Gabbie) because it’s just him with some food and friends just talking and enjoying themselves.
  • Alonzo Lerone – I was following Alonzo on instagram for a while before youtube. But his videos are some of the funniest out there I think. Sometimes his reactions to the stupidity of the internet are even funnier. Get a dictionary!
  • Gabbie Hanna – Gabbies another youtuber I’ve known about but never really watched till about late last year and her story times became my favorite thing. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve watched her gym membership story time or her 24 hrs without caffeine. Gabbie also started doing music again and its been really cool to watch her grow in that industry.
  • Marques Brownlee “MKBHD” – I’m pretty sure I’ve been subscribed to Marques for at least 3 or 4 years. I’m not the biggest tech geek but I enjoy being informed and listening to people that know more then I do. And review videos are almost like unboxings for me.
  • Mr. Kate – Kate and Joey are freaking adorable and great at what they do. They’re the youtube Chip and Joanna Gaines to me. It’s fascinating to watch their transformations and I love getting inspo for an idea I’ve had but I’m not sure how to actually implicate.
  • Glam and Gore – I followed Mykie from her instagram to youtube and she’s been killing it since the beginning but this year was my favorite from her. Her haunted Halloween series was awesome and I’ve rewatched it about 10 times now.
  • Megan Batoon – Megan is one of my favorite youtubers. She’s super pun-derful (she’d appreciate that) and relatable. If I could hang out with any youtubers she’d be my top pick.
  • The Daily Show with Trevor Noah – I freaking love Trevor Noah simply for his comedy but he is great for The Daily Show. I almost always put it on autoplay and its hilarious while also being informal. I never watch the traditional news because it’s always super depressing/irritating but listening to shows like this one (and Phil) help me get my daily news intake without feeling like the world “government” is completely hopeless. (but I think that ship has sailed)
  • The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon – I don’t watch Jimmy as much as I used to but his musical segments are my absolute favorite. that musical genre challenge with Ariana Grande was fan-freaking-tastic. And anytime Jamie Foxx is on the show my stomach hurts from laughing so much.
  • Khleo Thomas – I’m the type of person that is on IMDB with almost every movie or show I watch, especially if its old (I love my facts). And I feel like I checked up on the cast of Holes a couple years ago and I don’t remember finding anything about Khleo aka Zero/Hector Zeroni. But the boy has been up to a lot. And I’ve been enjoying his instagram/youtube. I’ll be subscribing to his podcast soon, I’m gutted that I missed out on the Holes 15th anniversary where he streamed the movie and gave bts info throughout.
  • DrawingWiffWaffles – This is kind of a cheat because I literally just subscribed to her channel (about 2 weeks ago) but I couldn’t not include waffles, I mean Rin. I’ve watched a few videos of hers in the past but recently have been binging her videos. She’s an adorable dork and draws really cute characters.
  • Alexa Poletti – I have to thank Mykie for collaborating with Alexa otherwise I wouldn’t have gotten to know this adorable punk/kawaii super creative youtuber. Her and Mykies collab was so cool and I’ve been subscribed ever since. Alexas fashion videos have to be my favorite. Her walk-throughs are really inspiring to want to mix things up. And it’s nice to see someone else’s style that is completely different from yours.
  • Sarah Rae Vargas – I think I found Sarah just browsing through youtube and it’s nice to see a plus size girl so into fashion. I can’t really list her as a favorite favorite since her other content isn’t for me but I’m here for all the fashion videos and the occasional vlog.
  • It’s Me, Andie! – Andie is bullet journal goals! She just started bullet journaling and she does these pretty elaborate cover pages with some awesome themes. 
  • Binging with Babish – I honestly don’t remember how I came across Babish but I’m happy it happened. If you’ve ever wondered about what some of your favorite tv/movie food tastes like then this is the channel for you. Plus his ‘Basics with Babish’ series is great for anyone learning or perfecting their cooking skills.
  • Bon Appétit – Their ‘Pastry Chef Attempts’ with Claire series is one of my favorite things on youtube. Watching her recreate childhood snacks and candy is so cool. I think it would be really cool to try and create one of her recreations but I don’t think I have the same willpower as Claire. Plus Brad is also a favorite of mine, an attempt video isn’t right without his little anecdotes.

Personal

  • I moved into my 1st apartment!
  • I turned 23. I don’t think there is much different from being 22 but you’re now farther away from 21 which is the definition of starting adulthood. I think turning 24 will feel more significant for me.
  • I became a cat mom to 2 babies, Amelia and Charlotte. Ava went back to living with mom and Patches; she just wasn’t happy at my apartment (I honestly think she missed P but she’ll never admit it).
  • I feel that there’s been a lot of personal growth in 2018. I’ve let certain mental hang-ups and past experiences go. I’ve been spending more time with family and friends, even rekindling old friendships. 

Things for 2019:

  • I want to make a point to get out of the house more. Even if that means I’m chilling on someone else’s couch. I just want to be surrounded by the people that make me laugh and smile more
  • I also want to focus more on myself but in a mental health way. I was kind of struggling more this year than I previously had and I really want to develop more ways to pull out of those kinds of funks.
  • I am going to try and embrace more of my faults and setbacks when it comes to being creative. I have to stop trying to put myself on the same level as people that have made art their full-time job. I have a full-time job and don’t get to wake, sleep, and breath art/creativity. And that’s okay. It just means I have to put in the work to make time for me to be able to have creative time. So that could mean sometimes waking up earlier on the weekends and start creating, but also remembering that its okay to sleep in if I’m tired. I’m allowed to! I wake up at 6 am 5 days a week. I better enjoy that rest!

And that is all for me about 2018.

You can look at previous year end posts – 2017 & 2016.

Feel free to leave some of your likes and loves from the year down below. Also, let me know how your 2018 was. Did you overcome some struggles or fulfilled some lifelong goals?? I’d love to hear.

I hope you all have an amazing 2019! I have a good feeling about this year. Lets put out as many positive vibes out there as we can.

Don’t forget, stay safe out there.

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

It's Time To Start An Adventure

Just a girl with a camera, a computer and plenty of crazy ideas

Our Perspective

Proudly South African

The Insatiable Traveler

Travel inspiration, stories, photos and advice

Discover WordPress

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.