It’s Called Sympathy You A**

sympathy-post-ittsaa

I consider myself a very positive and optimistic person.

That being said, it doesn’t take too much to annoy me though. But I’m pretty good at either letting it go, holding my tongue, or talking about you in my head.

Nevertheless were all humans and there are times when things just stick with you; mentally or physically.

Now don’t get it twisted this isn’t a rant. And I’m not going to use any more cuss words (sorry papa). But I do have the right to share something that’s on my mind and on my heart. Especially here on my own platform. That being said I will no doubt sound like I’m ranting so we’re just going to have to get over that now. Thanks.

As we all know (I would think all) know that Carrie Fisher, princess to us Star Wars babies, died on Tuesday. And her mother Debbie Reynolds, ‘Good Morning’, sadly followed the next day.

Death is a natural and inevitable part of life. That doesn’t mean we aren’t still sad, and a lot of times mad about it. I’ve been going to funerals since before I could talk. And have lost plenty family and friends in my life.

I understand that these two women were celebrities and I’ve never meant either of them. But that doesn’t mean that they haven’t impacted lives all around the world. Through their movies and activism.

My mom grew up with Star Wars and passed that torch down to me. It’s one of those things that almost my whole family can agree on.

Carrie Fisher was a bad ass woman and funny as hell (sorry papa-last one). And I’ll always think of Disney/Halloweentown, my childhood, when I think of her mother.

Just because I’ve never meet either of these women and they happen to be wealthy celebrities doesn’t mean I can’t be sad or empathic about their loss. I know what that feels like. And I’m incredibly sad for Carries daughter Billie, who lost probably the two most important women in her life in the span of 24 hours. How can you not feel even slightly empathic about that??

Having the title of a celebrity or a well-known person doesn’t stop them from being a human being. And that doesn’t stop us as fellow humans from being able to emphasize or simply have sympathy. If you don’t care then that’s fine, but don’t belittle people who do.

And don’t give me that crap about how it’s the internet and we didn’t personally know them, or that they weren’t real role models. If you can have sympathy for every squirrel you avoid hitting on the road then I think there’s enough left in that cold heart for a human or two.

I know your all wondering who pissed off Alex enough that she had to write a whole post.

Let’s just say I had an encounter with a small-minded person the other day. And I’m not pissed off; but very annoyed. As I said earlier some things just stick with you. This was one and I decided to write it down. I hope that would something tragic ever happened to someone (I will never wish or hope that onto anyone ever) and you do know them that you can try to lend some comfort.

You don’t have to know loss to be able to be there for someone going through it.

I hope you’re all doing well; that you got to enjoy your holiday and that you spent it surrounded by family and friends.

And if you have suffered a loss, recent or not, know that it’s going to hurt for a while but it won’t hurt for forever. Be happy with the time you had with them, short or long. And even if you don’t believe in a higher power, know that I believe they’re in a better place.

Stay safe out there.

“Unable are the loved to die, for love is immortality.”

– Emily Dickinson 

Leave a Reply

