XIX

“There is a certain part of all of us that lives outside of time.

Perhaps we become aware of our age only at exceptional moments

and most of the time we are ageless.”

– Milan Kundera 


I don’t really have much to say about turning 19.

Maybe it’s because I’m actually working on those life goals I’ve been setting since freshman year. I mean look at me now, I’m a freshman again, no matter how much I hate it, but I’m in college. I’m trying to get a degree so I can get my dream career. I think that’s pretty monumental in its self.

It shocks me to realize that it was only 8 months ago I was graduating high school and freaking out about becoming a real adult. Sure I was only 18 at the time but I wasn’t a little kid anymore. Which is also a good thing. I don’t have to get up at 5:30 in the morning anymore unless I want to (I promise you I never will).

Just think that next year at this same time I’ll be 20. That’s pretty awesome!!

I guess my point out of all of this is that I’m excited for what’s to come next.

Sure people will say that I should be happy that I’m young now. And I am, but to be honest I’m really excited to see where I’ll be 5, 10 or 15 years from now. Sure I’ll only be 24, 29 or 34, but I’m only 19 now, and hopefully I’ll have some pretty interesting stories to tell by then.

So I’m not setting any major life goals right now, except to finish college, get a job, and travel as much as possible. And that sounds pretty good to me.

Stay safe out there!!

And if you can, eat a piece of cake or have some ice cream on me :-)

Happy Birthday to any other November 8th babies out there!!

Leave a Reply

